Home > ADHD, Israel, Opinion, Start up > Honey I’m still free…

Honey I’m still free…

Last night I went to a talk by Gigi Levy, who has now made his hobby as an angel investor in start ups into his primary activity (up until a few months ago he was the CEO of 888).

He kept his audience entranced well past 21:00 – no small feat. He spoke about the accelerated world we live in, how businesses have to stay on the ball to keep up. I left wound up and confused but inspired, and I came away with a clearer idea of the direction I need to take.

One of the things he talked about was hiring – he implored the audience to hire beyond the mould, not to only hire the 20 – 30 something programmers who all studied abc at xyz – to take a chance on a 50 something programmer, to bring on board the people who are different and creative: they may bring something else to your company; that elusive factor that often leads to great success.

This really struck a nerve with me. I’ve always felt like a bit of an outsider, like I could never really crack the social code. It’s taken a long time to get where I am, to accept my differences, to feel proud of my abilities, and to have found a group of friends (and family, which should go without saying) who also accept me, my talents, my limitations, and provide me with such love and support and encouragement.

So it was heartening to hear someone like Gigi talk like that – encouraging others to hire people who don’t always fit into the mould. To take a chance on us.

Categories: ADHD, Israel, Opinion, Start up
  1. October 31, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Darlin woman, you can do anything you set your mind and talent to. Your beautiful, intelligent, witty and creative. May discount the abilities of this generation but Gigi is right. There is a seed of greatness inside every person. Sometimes you simply have to do some weeding and watering to have that seed grow.

    Keep up the great work!

    • October 31, 2011 at 2:28 pm

      What a lovely thing to say Tans! Thank you so much 🙂 Are you still around? Are you back in DC?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

