Home > Uncategorized > Insult without injury?

Insult without injury?

There is nothing like a really bad mother to remind you that you are a good one.

One of our neighbors verbally abuses her children – I’m not talking about the odd rough day (which happens to the best of us); it’s a non-stop belligerant stream of insults and name calling. Her son is about 6 and her daughter is about 9 or 10. Some of the lovely things she shouted at her children just today:

– “I swear I am going to slap you! You think I won’t? You think I care about you? WHAT AM I YOUR SERVANT?”

– “NO! I SAID NO! Stop walking around constantly you hyperactive thing”

– “I swear I am going to kick you out of the house don’t think I won’t”

– “I AM SO SICK OF BOTH OF YOU”

That’s pretty much how it is all day every day, and with every insult my stomach turns over. I find it heartbreaking to imagine children growing up in such an environment. I have called the police in the past over physical domestic abuse, but what should one do in a case like this? What would you do?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. adriane
    October 29, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Contact the welfare department.

  2. Sarah Crawford
    October 30, 2011 at 2:20 am

    I agree – emotional assault is sometimes even worse than physical. they may be able to give the woman access to counselling and management strategies to help all of them.

  3. October 30, 2011 at 10:37 am

    Thanks for the input. I guess I need to think about it a bit…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

