Home > Israel, Opinion, Politics, Uncategorized > Why I don’t leave him on the side of the road

Why I don’t leave him on the side of the road

The to do list on my fridge says:

  • Food shopping
  • Write checks for baby’s daycare
  • Make Dr appointment
  • Call internet provider
  • Replace gas masks

I push the possibility of war from my head, it is intolerable. But everytime I look at the list on my fridge I am acutely aware that the threat can easily become our reality.

A few years ago my husband (then my boyfriend) told me this story: At the time of the Gulf War he was 13. When Saddam fired scud missiles at Israel, the sirens would sound and everyone would crowd into bomb shelters. The first time his family had to go into their small shelter (which usually served as a storeroom on the ground floor of their house), they all sat down and put on their gas masks. My husband’s was uncomfortable and while adjusting it he broke the seal.

And then he smelt it – a strong, pungent chemical smell. He thought that there had been a chemical attack, and he had broken the seal on his gasmask. What he didn’t know was that all households had been instructed to place a cloth soaked in bleach at the bottom of the doorframe – in the case of actual chemical warfare, this would be a last ditch attempt to stop fumes from entering the shelters. He was smelling bleach.

He didn’t know that though. He was a 13 year old boy, and he was pretty sure that he was going to die and there was nothing he could do about it. Did he panic? Did he scream and cry? He knew that would be pointless, and would terrify his family. So he waited for the effects to start kicking in, calmly, so as not to scare his parents. When he told me that story, I was amazed at his self control. I could not imagine the fear he must have felt, yet his instinct to protect his family was stronger.

This is the essence of my husband. He can drive me mental and sometimes I want to leave him on the side of the road, but this is the man for me.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

