Home > Parenthood > Parenthood – just use your head

Parenthood – just use your head

A few weeks ago I was home with a sick Shai for three days. By the third day, she was feeling a lot better, her temp was down, her color was back, and I was a ragged, wretched, pathetically squeezed out shell of my former self.

I’d been playing with her and after a while I put my head down on the playmat. And she just waddled on over and sat on my head. And I thought to myself “well if this doesn’t just sum up parenthood….”

You feed, you love, you bathe, cook, clean, dress, nurture, teach, you wake up at 5am every bloody morning, hug, caress, kiss, tend to, make it good, then make it better, gently wipe away tears and snot and other stuff that smells, care for, worry about, change nappies, put cream and plasters on sore bits with an extra kiss, do your best to keep safe, wipe bums that aren’t attached to your own body, glow with pride and happiness, melt down with frustration and guilt, overflow with love, and then, and then…just when you think that for the next few moments you don’t have a single thing more to give of yourself, not the tiniest ounce, and all you ask for is one minute to put your head down and recover and recharge – the little kak strolls over and uses your head as a chair.

Categories: Parenthood
  1. Leanne Bernstein
    October 11, 2011 at 11:00 am

    I loved this – Leanne

    • October 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm

      Thanks Lee 🙂 it was pretty funny.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

